Spoilers

e_oscars2017wrongwinner_022717

If you are well connected with what’s going on whether it’s the news, sports and current events or things trending, then you may be prone to getting spoiler alerts. Whether it’s browsing on social media, getting news updates on your phone or having friends text you, it’s very hard not to get a spoiler. I have to consciously hide from the world when I don’t watch a big programming event live.  I do this often too because I don’t have the patience nor the time to watch commercials so I typically DVR live programs and watch them later.This way I can forward the commercials and it saves me a ton of time. I do this when I watch sports as well. However when doing this, I am always vulnerable to spoilers. It’s so bad that I am either forced to watch it live or never glance at my phone during my programs. I did this for the Oscar’s last week. I knew people will be talking about it on social media in live time so when I watched it later, I hid my phone. Information travels so fast that it is so hard to be oblivious unless you actively choose to be. When I “go off the grid” and watch my programming at a later time, I’m constantly anxious in what’s going on in real time. I feel late and out of the loop with the rest of the world. When I saw the Oscars last week (luckily I didn’t get a spoiler alert), I saw it 3 hours later than everyone.  I felt like I was experiencing the controversial ending too late by the time I saw it. Like I was the last person to know. I felt left out of the conversation. By the time I logged into social media, hardly anyone was talking about it anymore. All the hoopla happened hours prior. Because we get news so fast, does the news get stale just as fast? With so much information out there, news travels in colossal speed. If you aren’t connected in real time, you could feel left out. I don’t like that feeling but I also don’t like having to hide my phone so I don’t get spoiler alerts either. We live in such a fast paced and overwhelming time. It’s a constant theme in my concerns, but sometimes I wish I just lived in my own bubble, in my own time without so many distractions.

Leave a comment